Uganda Cranes captain, Denis Onyango and striker Emmanuel Okwi have not made it to the list as the continent’s football governing body trimmed the shortlist for the CAF 2019 awards.

The list which originally had 30 nominees has been trimmed to only 10 and among others who have been dropped include Tanzania’s Mbwana Samatta, Liverpool and Guinea’s Naby Keita and Arsenal’s Nicolas Pepe (Ivory Coast ).

Men’s Player of the Year:

  • Andre Onana (Cameroon and Ajax)
  • Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Ajax)
  • Ismail Bennacer (Algeria and AC Milan)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal and Napoli)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
  • Odion Ighalo (Nigeria and Shanghai Shenhua)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Arsenal)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)
  • Youcef Belaili (Algeria and Al Ahli Jeddah)

Women’s Player of the Year:

  • Ajara Nchout (Cameroon and Valerenga)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Barcelona)
  • Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon and CSKA Moscow)
  • Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi and Jiangsu Suning)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa and Beijing Phoenix FC)
  • Interclubs Player of the Year:
  • Anice Badri (Tunisia and Esperance)
  • Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo and Renaissance Berkane/Al Ain)
  • Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia and Esperance)
  • Tarek Hamed (Egypt and Zamalek)
  • Youcef Belaïli (Algeria and Esperance/Al Ahli Jeddah)

Youth Player of the Year:

  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Borussia Dortmund)
  • Krépin Diatta (Senegal and Club Brugge)
  • Moussa Djenepo (Mali and Southampton)
  • Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria and Villarreal)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and Lille)

Men’s Coach of the Year:

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
  • Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)
  • Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
  • Moine Chaabani (Tunisia – Esperance)
  • Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)

Women’s Coach of the Year:

  • Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
  • Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
  • Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year:

  • Algeria
  • Madagascar
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia

Women’s National Team of the Year:

  • Cameroon
  • Ivory Coast
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zambia

The winners will be announced on January 7 in Egypt.

Previous articleMusic Lovers Can Count on an Afro-Fused Blankets And Wine This December

Source link